INEC Releases Dates for Ekiti and Osun Gubernatorial Elections

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has revealed that the Ekiti and Osun states elections will hold on  July 14, 2018 and September 22, 2018 respectively.

This was revealed during a press briefing on Thursday at the INEC headquarters in Abuja.

The timetable also disclosed that, any run- off election would be held within seven days after the announcement of result in line with relevant laws.

The national commissioner in charge of information, Solomon Soyebi, said INEC arrived at the dates in line with provisions of section 178 (1) and (2) of the 1999 constitution as amended, and section 25 (7) and (8) of the electoral act, 2010.

Soyebi told intending aspirants and their parties that the release of dates for elections did not amount to notice for campaigns for votes.

“Anybody who deviates from the electoral guidelines by engaging in public campaign ahead of the date for commencement of campaign is committing electoral offence and will be prosecuted,” he said.

“All political parties and their candidates are hereby enjoined to cooperate with us.”

According to the timetable, the electoral body is expected to issue notice for the Ekiti election on April 4, which is not later than 90 days before the election.

Political campaigns would commence on April 15 and end on July 12, while the collection of forms by political parties for issuance to candidates would come a day after.

Political primaries and resolution of disputes arising from such have been slated for April 15 to May 14.

For Osun, political campaigns would start on June 24 and end September 20.

Collection of forms for the election by political parties was fixed for June 25, while primaries and resolution of arising disputes must be conducted between June 24 to July 23rd, 2018.

The tenure of Ekiti State governor, Ayodele Fayose and his Osun State counterpart, Rauf Aregbesola, will end on October 15, 2018 and November 28, 2018, respectively.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply